United States

50 x 50 x 3.6 cm. 28 kg - glass merged in multilayer with inclusion of pigments


The American flag, the Stars and Stripes or Old Glory, consists of 13 horizontal red and white stripes (seven red, six white) symbolizing the thirteen British colonies which, in 1775, formed themselves into a union to protect their rights against the British Crown.
In the left upper Township, stars represent the States belonging to the union, or fifty since the admission of Hawaii, on July 4, 1960.

The first version of the flag was adopted on June 14, 1777, a year after the declaration of independence, and replaced a set of revolutionary flags such as the flag of the great Union, the first to have been hoisted, in early 1776, by George Washington (1732-1799) when he proclaimed the Organization of the Continental Army.


Click on the images to zoom


This flag had thirteen bands and, in its canton, the Union Jack. Between 1795 and 1818, the number of the stars and stripes was fifteen, Vermont and Kentucky having joined the first United States.
Then in 1818, Congress decreed that the number of bands would be reduced to thirteen, and that in the future, only one star would be added to mark the arrival of a new State. There were altogether twenty-seven successive versions.

Official name: United States of America
Continent: America | Capital: Washington DC
Area: 9 ' 629 ' 091 km2. Population (2010): 308 745 538 inhabitants
Official language: English
Currency: dollar USBorder countries: Canada, Mexico
National holiday: July 4 | Motto: In God we trust - God Bless America
Member of the United Nations: 24 October 1945
Member of the UNESCO: September 29, 2003

Logo-rgranville-availableWork available


Return the 2012 summary